Our Corrupted Intellect

Proverbs 3:5 says, “Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;”

Personally my intellect seems more reliable to me than my emotions. Yet it is clear that I cannot lean on my own understanding. Even my intellect can be swayed by persuasive arguments, and I have been wrong more that I like to admit.

Two other verses come to mind as I think about intellect. Ephesians 4:14 “so that we may no longer be children, tossed to and fro by the waves and carried about by every wind of doctrine, by human cunning, by craftiness in deceitful schemes.” And also II Corinthians 10:5 “We destroy arguments and every lofty opinion raised against the knowledge of God, and take every thought captive to obey Christ,”

Of course we can and must use our intellect. It is not all bad, we can use our intellect for good, and it should be used that way. But we can not trust solely our intellect. We must give our intellect to Christ and allow Him to use it for His good. Only He can be trusted fully and can make full use of the intellect He created and gave to us.

The following words are from the hymn “Take my Life and Let it Be”

Take my intellect, and use every power as Thou shalt choose.

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

