My Corrupted Heart

The heart is a misunderstood concept in Bible and in life. The New Bible Dictionary describes the definition of the Greek and Hebrew word for heart in the Bible as, Intellect Emotion and Will. (For a more through definition click here)

Of course when we think about the word heart what we think about most often is our emotions. So we tend to think more negatively about our emotions at times than other aspects of our self, such as intellect and will. The truth is that it is not only or emotions that are off, or corrupted, it is our intellect and will as well. Jeremiah 17:9 says this about our heart.

“The heart is deceitful above all things,
and desperately sick;
who can understand it?”

I don’t think the Bible is saying that our intellect, emotion and will are completely bad. I think there is good and bad in every persons heart. I do think our hearts are corrupted by sin throughout. Thankfully God cares deeply about redeeming our corrupted hearts, intellect, emotion and will. Ezekiel 26:36 says this, “And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.”

I know that my intellect, emotion and will all need to be made new. I am so thankful that there was one who had a pure heart, Jesus. I am thankful that he offers His heart to you and to me. We all can be made new from the inside out in every aspect of ourselves by the gift of God through Jesus Christ His perfect Son.

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

