Ideas + People

I love ideas. I just can’t get enough of them at times. I like to think about different ideas and roll them around in my mind like puzzle pieces and see who they fit together. Walking though a book store or library is a rich experience in ideas for me. I like to read the title and subtitles trying to get a pulse on what ideas are out there and what ideas other people are thinking about. Ideas are like the title of a book I once read, Wheels in the Head. As I have gotten to know myself I have learned from StrengthsFinder that one of my top 5 strengths is Ideation.

I love the power of ideas. I have seen an idea change my life. I have seen an idea change the lives of people around me. If we look back we can see how ideas have changed the world. Ideas don’t just stay in the mind but get turned into action and change the physical world around us as well. A good idea can live forever. People give their lives to good ideas.  Martin Luther King put it this way, “I submit to you that if a man hasn’t discovered something he will die for, he isn’t fit to live.”

But ideas are so limited. As much as I love ideas, and can even feel emotionally connected to ideas at times, and they move me to action, and I am willing to give my life for and idea; ideas are impersonal. They don’t talk back to me. I don’t have a real relationship with an idea. I can’t touch them taste them feel them. The are cold and impersonal.

I love people as well. I love getting to know them, and what make them tick. What ideas they think about and how those ideas have affected their life. If a particular idea is something that stays in their mind or if the ideas is strong enough to move them to emotion, and action. I love to hear the stories that have shaped them and taught them different ideas. I love to touch people, look them in the eyes, hug them, compete with them. Empathy is my number one strength on the StrengthsFinder test. In all the places I have lived, people have always asked if I miss, Texas or Cincinnati, or Athens, and the answer is always the same. I don’t really miss the place, but I miss the people. I love people.

But the problem with people is that they don’t live forever. You can invest time helping someone grow, and develop and they can die before you do. Even if a person lives longer than you they will not live forever. One day they too will die. So if you give your life for a person, your investment will only last as long as the other person lives.

Jesus is unique. Jesus is a person that will live forever. The ideas that he carried into the world will live forever.  This is why only Jesus can say, “I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” Jesus is the truth, the ultimate idea, and Jesus is the life the ultimate person. In Jesus we can experience the best ideas, merged with personal being, that lives forever.

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in ideas, Jesus, people. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

