Zambia

I still remember when God used me to lead someone to Him for the first time. Spring Break in Chicago on 110 street, I met a woman who was on her way to pick up her daughter from school. On the way back with her daughter we got a chance to talk and after going through a Gospel presentation she prayed with me and gave her life to Christ. I was in awe that God would use me a scared, grad student to change someone’s eternal destiny.

That experience so marked me that I wanted to give that experience to others. So in preparing to go to Zambia, I asked a veteran leader how his project shared the gospel so much. He said, “First you need to die to your own reputation. Then you have to love the students on your project well. If you love them well, they will take great risks on their own. They want to see God show up.”

With those thoughts my co-leader and I started planning. At one point we had to decide, How many Gospel outlines would we bring?” Initially I thought 1,000, then thought better of it and settled to 500. Not a week later I was talking to Arudo, the Zambian Campus Director. As he was praying about the summer he suggested we set a faith goal of 1,000 Gospel presentations. Without hesitation I said, “That is great, I was thinking the same thing.” I think that God had put that number in both of our heads for a reason.

Zambia was more than I expected. It is the real Africa. After 3 weeks in the capital we were able to do some relief work in the villages with Oak Point Church. All the while I was trying to love the students with all my heart because I new that I wanted to challenge them so that they could see God show up. Kitwe was our next stop and our plan was to launch a new campus ministry at Copperbelt University.

Before our week started I was able to challenge the students to walk by faith. To trust God during this week we called ” Faith Week.” We asked person to set a goal by faith of how many students they wanted to present the Gospel to. I asked them to set a goal that they couldn’t accomplish on their own so that they would know that God did it and not themselves. Adding each of our goals together we were trusting God for 638 Gospel Presentations. We closed down our kick off to “Faith Week” with Ephesians 3:20 “Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us,”

This video is what God did during “Faith Week.”

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in Zambia and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Zambia

  1. Pingback: Passion 2012 | Dan Butz

Leave a Reply

